For most gear setups, I’d start with the Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector: its 3,940-joule rating and 8-foot cord balance protection capacity with practical reach. The Amazon Basics 12-Outlet is another straightforward option, while the Furman SS-6B-PRO suits buyers who want a compact, equipment-focused power block with EVS. The main tradeoff is between fitting more plugs and choosing a strip with a better match for your load, layout, and protection needs. High outlet counts can help crowded desks, but they do not automatically mean better surge protection or safer use. Read on for the full breakdown of where each option fits and what to check before buying.
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The amazon.com/dp/B0D1XH8NJP?tag=skypixeltech-20&ascsubtag=dc-891986″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>amazon.com/dp/B0C6S6TPRH?tag=skypixeltech-20&ascsubtag=dc-891986″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>Belkin 12-Outlet leads this lineup for a balanced gear setup, pairing a 3,940-joule rating with an 8-foot cord and a manageable 12-outlet layout.
- High outlet count is not the same as high protection: the 24-outlet QINLIANF and 28-outlet Superdanny offer room for many plugs, but their ratings and physical footprint still matter.
- Purpose-built options fill distinct gaps: Furman’s EVS, Eaton Tripp Lite’s six-outlet format, and CCCEI’s single-outlet heavy-duty design suit different setups rather than serving as general replacements.
- USB ports and outlet spacing are convenience features, not substitutes for a gear plan. Check whether bulky adapters will block neighboring sockets and whether USB charging fits your device needs.
- The lineup spans very different protection claims: the Amazon Basics six-outlet two-pack lists 200 joules, while several 12-outlet models list roughly 4,000 joules; compare the rating and use case rather than outlet count alone.
| surge protector power strips for gear | Surge protection | Cord length | Voltage | Maximum current |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 Ft Extension Cord Power Stri | 2700 joules | 6 feet | — | 15A |
| Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protect | 3940 joules | 8 feet | — | — |
| TROND Surge Protector Power St | 4000 joules | 5 feet | 125V | 15A |
| Amazon Basics 12-Outlet Surge | 4000 joules | 8 feet | — | — |
| 2 Pack Surge Protector Power S | 900 joules | 5 feet | 125V | 15A |
| Eaton Tripp Lite TLP606B Black | 900 joules | 6 feet | — | — |
| ALestor 6 ft Surge Protector P | 2700 joules | 6 feet | — | — |
| Power Strip 1800J Surge Protec | 1800 joules | — | 125V | 13A |
| QINLIANF Surge Protector Power | 4100 joules | 6 feet | 125V | 15A |
| Furman SS-6B-PRO 6-Outlet Surg | — | 15 feet | 120V | 15A |
| Amazon Basics 6-Outlet Surge P | 200 joules | 2 feet | 125 volts | — |
| ECHOGEAR ShockBlocker 8 Outlet | 3420 joules | — | 120 volts | — |
| Superdanny Power Strip Surge P | 2100 joules | 6.5 feet | 125 volts | 15 A |
| 20AC Power Strip with USB Port | — | 6 feet | 240 volts | 15 A |
| CCCEI 12 Gauge Heavy Duty Surg | 4800 joules | — | 125 volts | 20 A listed |
More Details on Our Top Picks
6 Ft Extension Cord Power Strip with Surge Protector, 12 AC Outlets & 4 USB Ports, ETL Listed, Black
For a mixed desk or dorm setup, this strip pairs 12 AC outlets with 4 USB ports, reducing the need for separate charging blocks. Its 2700-joule surge rating adds a stated layer of surge protection, while widely spaced outlets help keep bulky adapters from crowding neighboring sockets. Compared with the Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector, it gives up some stated surge capacity but adds USB charging and uses a shorter cord. The USB-C port is limited to 5V output as part of the 3.4A total, so it is not suited to devices that require higher-voltage USB-C charging. Its 15A maximum also rules it out for high-power appliances, and the heavier cord may be awkward in tight routing.
Pros:- Twelve AC outlets and four USB ports support a varied desk or dorm setup.
- Widely spaced outlets help accommodate large power adapters.
- 2700-joule surge protection is specified.
- ETL listed, with a six-foot cord for flexible placement.
Cons:- USB-C output is limited to 5V and does not support higher-voltage charging.
- The maximum current is 15A, so it is not for high-power appliances.
- The heavy-duty cord may be less flexible in cramped spaces.
Best for: Students and home-office users who need many AC connections, basic USB charging, and clearance for large adapters in one spot.
Not ideal for: People charging laptops or other devices that require higher-voltage USB-C, or anyone powering high-draw appliances.
- AC outlets:12
- USB ports:4, including USB-C
- Surge protection:2700 joules
- USB output:DC 5V, 3.4A total
- Maximum current:15A
- Input voltage:125VAC
- Cord length:6 feet
- Certification:ETL listed
Our verdict“Choose this for a crowded gear setup that needs adapter-friendly outlets and everyday USB charging, not higher-voltage USB-C or appliance power.”
Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 8ft Cord, UL-Listed, 3940 Joules
The Belkin is the strongest fit here for buyers who want a high stated surge rating across a bank of gear: it combines 12 outlets with 3940 joules of protection and an 8-foot cord. A protection indicator gives a quick visual check, while UL listing and recycled-content construction add useful details beyond outlet count. Compared with the Amazon Basics 12-Outlet Surge Protector, the Belkin provides specific clamping-voltage and maximum-spike figures, though both offer 12 outlets and an eight-foot reach. It has no USB ports, so chargers still occupy AC sockets; the TROND and 6 Ft Extension Cord models suit setups that need built-in USB instead. This is an indoor strip, and its cord still needs a nearby wall outlet.
Pros:- 3940-joule surge rating with specified clamping voltages.
- Twelve protected AC outlets and an eight-foot cord.
- Safety indicator light shows protection status.
- UL listed and made with at least 72% post-consumer recycled content.
Cons:- No USB charging ports, so adapters use AC outlets.
- Specified for indoor use only.
- Requires a wall outlet and does not provide independent power.
Best for: Home-office and entertainment-system owners who want 12 protected AC connections, a long cord, and a visible protection-status indicator.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need built-in USB charging or protection for an outdoor setup.
- AC outlets:12
- Surge protection:3940 joules
- Cord length:8 feet
- Clamping voltage:L-N 400V; L-G 500V; N-G 500V
- Maximum spike voltage:6000V
- Certification:UL listed
- Recycled content:Minimum 72% post-consumer recycled material
- Use:Indoor
Our verdict“Pick the Belkin for a long-reach, AC-only gear station where its stated surge capacity and protection indicator matter more than built-in USB.”
TROND Surge Protector Power Strip 5ft Cord, 4000J, 4 USB, ETL Listed, Black
The TROND earns the most balanced spot for a desk crowded with electronics: 13 widely spaced AC outlets, four USB ports, and a stated 4000-joule rating cover more kinds of gear than the AC-only Belkin. The five-foot cord is shorter, but its flat plug and wall-mountable design can make a compact workstation easier to arrange. Compared with the 6 Ft Extension Cord Power Strip, TROND adds one AC outlet and a higher stated joule rating, while giving up one foot of cord reach. Its 15A limit is for ordinary electronics rather than high-draw appliances, and the product information does not specify additional safety features beyond surge protection. The North American Type B plug also limits use to compatible outlets.
Pros:- Thirteen widely spaced AC outlets help reduce adapter blocking.
- Four USB ports add charging without using AC sockets.
- 4000-joule surge rating is specified.
- Flat plug and wall-mountable design offer flexible placement.
Cons:- Five-foot cord is shorter than the eight-foot Belkin and Amazon Basics options.
- 15A maximum current does not suit high-power appliances.
- Product details do not identify added safety features beyond surge protection.
Best for: Desk, studio, or gaming users with many electronics and USB-charged accessories who can place the strip near the wall outlet.
Not ideal for: People needing a longer reach, high-power appliance support, or a strip with clearly specified added safety features.
- AC outlets:13
- USB ports:4
- Surge protection:4000 joules
- Maximum current:15A
- Voltage:125V
- Cord length:5 feet
- Mounting:Wall mountable
- Certification:ETL listed
- Plug type:North American Type B
Our verdict“Choose TROND for a densely connected desk that benefits from 13 adapter-friendly outlets, USB ports, and mounting options in one strip.”
Amazon Basics 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip, 4000 Joules, 8ft Extension Cord
This Amazon Basics strip is a straightforward choice for protecting a cluster of AC-powered gear: it lists 12 outlets, 4000 joules of surge protection, and an 8-foot cord. Its circuit breaker, safety shutters, and flame-retardant material make the safety provisions more explicit than the TROND’s listed feature set. Against the Belkin, it offers the same outlet count and cord length with a comparable stated joule rating, but the provided details do not include Belkin’s clamping voltages or protection indicator. There are no USB ports, so phones and accessories need their own adapters. This is a sensible basic station for a TV, console, or office equipment, but buyers needing USB charging or a wider outlet count should look at the TROND or 6 Ft Extension Cord option.
Pros:- Twelve outlets support several pieces of AC-powered gear.
- 4000-joule surge rating is specified.
- Eight-foot cord provides reach for desks and entertainment centers.
- Includes a circuit breaker, safety shutters, and flame-retardant material.
Cons:- No USB ports for direct device charging.
- Limited to 12 outlets, fewer than TROND’s 13.
- Provided specifications do not list clamping voltages or a protection indicator.
Best for: People organizing AC-powered home-office, gaming, or entertainment gear who want a long cord and specified safety features.
Not ideal for: USB-heavy setups, or buyers who need more than 12 outlets or detailed clamping-voltage specifications.
- AC outlets:12
- Surge protection:4000 joules
- Cord length:8 feet
- Safety features:Circuit breaker, safety shutters, flame-retardant material
- USB ports:None listed
- Intended settings:Home, office, or gaming setups
Our verdict“Choose this for an AC-focused gear setup that needs a long cord and clearly listed safety features without built-in USB.”
2 Pack Surge Protector Power Strip with 6 Outlets and 4 USB Ports
This two-strip set makes sense when gear is spread across separate spots, such as a desk and bedside table: each unit has 6 AC outlets and 4 USB ports, with a five-foot cord and mounting option. Rather than concentrating connections in one place like the 13-outlet TROND, it gives buyers two smaller strips to position independently. The tradeoff is lower surge capacity: its 900-joule rating is well below the TROND’s 4000 joules and the Belkin’s 3940 joules. Each strip also has fewer AC outlets, and the product details conflict on USB count: the title and specs say four per strip, while the listed cons say two per strip. Buyers should confirm the port layout before relying on four USB connections per unit.
Pros:- Two strips allow connections to be divided between locations.
- Each unit combines six AC outlets with USB charging.
- Slim, mountable design can help keep a small desk or bedside area organized.
- Five-foot cords and overload protection are specified.
Cons:- 900-joule surge rating is much lower than the TROND, Belkin, and Amazon Basics options.
- Only six AC outlets per strip.
- Provided information conflicts on whether each strip has two or four USB ports.
Best for: Households or small offices that need separate surge-protected charging points for moderate gear loads in two locations.
Not ideal for: People protecting a high-value, densely connected equipment station or anyone who needs clearly confirmed USB-port counts and higher surge capacity.
- Pack count:2 power strips
- AC outlets per strip:6
- USB ports:4 per strip according to title and specs; description also lists 2 per strip
- Surge protection:900 joules
- Maximum current:15A
- Voltage:125V
- Cord length:5 feet
- Mounting:Mountable
- Plug type:North American Type B, 3-pin
Our verdict“Choose this set for two modest gear stations, but favor a higher-rated single strip for a concentrated, high-value equipment setup.”
Eaton Tripp Lite TLP606B Black 6 Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip
The Eaton Tripp Lite TLP606B suits a modest desk or AV setup where six outlets are enough and basic protection is the priority. Its 900-joule rating, resettable breaker, and diagnostic LED provide more useful status and overload feedback than a basic extension strip, while the fire-retardant ABS housing and mounting options help with fixed placement. Compared with the Furman SS-6B-PRO, it is lighter on specialized voltage and noise controls, but its six-foot cord is easier to manage in a typical home workspace. The tradeoff is capacity: larger gear collections will outgrow six outlets, and there are no USB ports for charging smaller devices. I’d choose it for a few essential components, not a densely packed rack.
Pros:- 900 joules of surge protection for everyday electronics
- Resettable 15A breaker and diagnostic LED provide useful safety feedback
- Mounting options and a six-foot cord support flexible placement
- Fire-retardant ABS housing
Cons:- Six outlets can be restrictive for larger gear setups
- No USB charging ports
- Lacks the Furman SS-6B-PRO’s listed EMI/RFI filtering and voltage shutdown
Best for: Home-office or small AV users with up to six plug-in components who want a mounted strip with basic diagnostic and breaker features.
Not ideal for: Buyers with many adapters or a studio rack that needs voltage shutdown, dedicated noise filtering, or more than six outlets.
- Outlets:6
- Surge protection:900 joules
- Cord length:6 feet
- Circuit breaker:15A resettable
- Housing:Fire-retardant ABS
- Certification:UL Certified (1363 & 1449)
Our verdict“Choose the TLP606B for a small, fixed desk or AV setup that needs straightforward surge protection and status feedback.”
ALestor 6 ft Surge Protector Power Strip with 12 Outlets and 4 USB Ports
The ALestor 12-outlet strip makes sense when a workstation has both plug-in gear and phones or tablets to charge. Its wide-spaced AC outlets help accommodate bulky adapters, and the four USB ports—including USB-C—reduce the need for separate charging blocks. At 2700 joules, it also offers a higher stated surge capacity than the Eaton Tripp Lite TLP606B, making it the more capable choice for a busier electronics cluster. That extra capacity comes with a larger footprint, and the provided details don’t specify individual outlet protection or USB charging output. Compared with the QINLIANF’s 24 outlets and 4100 joules, ALestor is less suited to a crowded workstation, but its 12-outlet layout is easier to keep under control.
Pros:- 12 AC outlets plus four USB ports, including USB-C
- 2700 joules of stated surge protection
- Wide-spaced outlets fit larger power adapters
- ETL safety certification and overload protection
Cons:- More physically bulky than a six-outlet strip such as the Eaton Tripp Lite TLP606B
- USB charging output specifications are not provided
- No details on individual outlet surge protection
Best for: Home-office users and creators who need outlets for several devices plus USB charging in one strip.
Not ideal for: Buyers with a large equipment rack, or users who need documented USB charging output and outlet-level protection details.
- AC outlets:12
- USB ports:4, including 1 USB-C
- Surge protection:2700 joules
- Cord length:6 feet
- Certification:ETL
- Protection feature:Overload protection
Our verdict“Pick the ALestor for a mixed-device workspace that needs generous adapter room and built-in USB charging without the QINLIANF’s 24-outlet scale.”
Power Strip 1800J Surge Protector, Outlet Extender, 12 AC Outdoor Weatherproof
This weather-resistant strip is the clear fit for equipment used in covered patios, workshops, or other outdoor areas where an ordinary indoor strip is a poor match. The standout is its IPX6 water resistance, paired with 12 AC outlets and four USB ports for powering several devices. Its 1800-joule rating is below the ALestor’s 2700 joules and far below the QINLIANF’s 4100, so I’d rank it for environment-specific use rather than maximum stated surge capacity. The five-foot cable may also limit placement, and its 13A maximum current calls for attention when several devices draw power at once. Wall mounting helps save surface space, though mounting hardware is not included. This is the specialist option in the group, not my pick for a standard indoor gear desk.
Pros:- IPX6 water resistance suits damp outdoor environments
- 12 AC outlets and four USB ports support multiple devices
- Wall-mount capability can free up work surfaces
- ETL and UL safety certifications are listed
Cons:- 1800 joules is lower than the ALestor and QINLIANF ratings
- Five-foot cable and 13A maximum current may constrain placement and load
- Mounting hardware is not included
Best for: Users powering outdoor or workshop electronics who need a water-resistant, wall-mountable strip with multiple outlets.
Not ideal for: Indoor gear owners prioritizing the highest surge rating, a longer cord, or a higher current limit.
- Total outlets:16: 12 AC outlets and 4 USB ports
- Surge protection:1800 joules
- Voltage:125V
- Maximum current:13A
- Cable length:5 feet
- Water resistance:IPX6
- Dimensions:12.7 × 4 inches
- Weight:1.7 pounds
- Certifications:ETL, UL
Our verdict“Choose this model for outdoor gear where water resistance matters more than a longer cord or the lineup’s highest surge rating.”
QINLIANF Surge Protector Power Strip with 24 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6Ft Flat Plug, 4100J Surge Protection, ETL Listed, Black
For a crowded home office, shared desk, or gear station, the QINLIANF’s 24 outlets are its defining advantage. Four USB ports, including two USB-C, add charging options, while the 4100-joule rating is the highest stated figure among these five picks. That makes it a more suitable high-capacity indoor hub than the ALestor, which has half as many AC outlets and a lower surge rating. The broad outlet count can also mean a larger unit and more cable clutter, so it is not a tidy choice for a small desk. Its USB-C ports do not support devices needing 9–22V charging, and the 125V limit rules out higher-voltage setups. I’d select it for many standard-voltage devices, not specialized fast-charging gear.
Pros:- 24 outlets accommodate a large collection of gear
- 4100 joules is the highest stated surge rating in this group
- Four USB ports include two USB-C ports
- Six-foot flat-plug cord can fit more easily behind furniture
Cons:- Large outlet count makes the unit bulkier and can add cable clutter
- USB-C ports do not support devices requiring 9–22V charging
- 125V operating limit does not suit higher-voltage equipment
Best for: Users managing many standard-voltage home-office, dorm, or AV devices from one central power strip.
Not ideal for: Small-desk owners and buyers whose USB-C devices require 9–22V charging or whose equipment needs higher voltage.
- Outlets:24
- USB ports:4: 2 USB-C and 2 USB-A
- Surge protection:4100 joules
- Voltage:125V
- Maximum current:15A
- Cord length:6 feet
- Plug type:Type B, 3-pin North American
- Enclosure materials:Copper, metal, polycarbonate
Our verdict“Choose the QINLIANF when outlet capacity and a high stated joule rating matter more than compactness or advanced USB-C charging.”
Furman SS-6B-PRO 6-Outlet Surge Protector Power Block with EVS, 15A
The Furman SS-6B-PRO is the specialist pick for studio, stage, and AV equipment where power fluctuations and line noise deserve more attention than outlet count. Its Extreme Voltage Shutdown adds a form of over- and under-voltage protection not listed for the Eaton Tripp Lite TLP606B, while EMI/RFI filtering targets electrical noise that can affect connected gear. The 15-foot cord also gives it a placement advantage over the six-foot Eaton and ALestor models. Its six outlets are a real limit beside the QINLIANF’s 24 or ALestor’s 12, and the heavy alloy-steel body is less convenient to move. No USB ports are included. I’d favor this for a focused equipment setup, not for a desk that needs one strip to power and charge everything.
Pros:- EVS provides listed over- and under-voltage shutdown protection
- EMI/RFI filtering is suited to noise-sensitive AV and studio gear
- 15-foot cord gives more placement flexibility than shorter-cord models
- Alloy-steel enclosure and built-in circuit breaker
Cons:- Only six outlets, well below the ALestor and QINLIANF capacities
- At 3.1 pounds, it is comparatively heavy
- No USB ports or stated joule rating in the supplied product data
Best for: Musicians, AV operators, and studio owners seeking voltage shutdown and EMI/RFI filtering for a smaller gear group.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need many outlets, USB charging, a lightweight portable strip, or a stated joule rating for comparison.
- Outlets:6
- Voltage:120V
- Maximum current:15A
- Cord length:15 feet
- Enclosure:Alloy steel
- Additional protection:EVS over- and under-voltage shutdown
- Filtering:EMI/RFI noise filtering
- Circuit protection:Built-in circuit breaker
- Dimensions and weight:10.5 × 7.4 inches; 3.1 pounds
Our verdict“Choose the Furman for a compact studio or AV rig that benefits from voltage shutdown and noise filtering more than extra outlets.”
Amazon Basics 6-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 200J Protection, Circuit Breaker, 2ft Extension Cord, Black, 2-Pack
This two-pack suits buyers who want simple protection at separate stations, such as a desk and a bedside table, rather than one strip for a dense gear setup. Each unit has six outlets, a circuit breaker, and a compact body that can be wall-mounted. The main compromise is its 200-joule rating, which is far below the ECHOGEAR ShockBlocker’s 3420 joules and the CCCEI’s listed 4800 joules. Its 2-foot cord also limits placement, especially behind furniture or where the wall outlet is awkwardly positioned. Compared with those higher-capacity picks, this Amazon Basics set is better for modest electronics and small appliances than valuable or surge-sensitive equipment. I’d skip it for a large workstation or a setup needing USB charging.
Pros:- Two separate strips cover more than one location
- Six outlets per strip for everyday devices
- Circuit breaker and LED indicator provide basic status and overload protection
- Compact, wall-mountable design
Cons:- 200 joules is a modest surge-protection rating compared with the ECHOGEAR and CCCEI options
- The 2-foot cord restricts placement
- No USB charging ports
Best for: Buyers who need basic surge-protected outlets at two nearby locations for modest electronics or small appliances
Not ideal for: People protecting valuable, surge-sensitive gear or positioning a strip far from the wall outlet; its 200-joule rating and 2-foot cord are limiting
- Outlets per strip:6
- Surge protection:200 joules
- Voltage:125 volts
- Amperage:15 A
- Cord length:2 feet
- Dimensions:10.28 x 1.97 x 1.30 inches
- Pack quantity:2
- Color:Black
Our verdict“Choose this two-pack for basic electronics in two nearby spots, but pick a higher-joule model for more valuable gear.”
ECHOGEAR ShockBlocker 8 Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip
The ShockBlocker is a strong fit for a focused AV or gaming setup: eight outlets, 3420 joules of surge protection, and extra spacing help accommodate bulky adapters without sacrificing every neighboring socket. Its slim, mountable body is easier to place behind a TV or desk than the much larger Superdanny 28-outlet strip, while offering substantially more surge capacity than the Amazon Basics 200J two-pack. The tradeoff is scale: eight outlets may not cover a full equipment rack or crowded workstation, and the supplied details list no USB ports or cord length. Its two-pin plug specification may also be less suitable for buyers seeking a grounded three-pin connection. I’d choose it for a compact arrangement of valuable electronics, not for a high-device-count charging hub.
Pros:- 3420-joule surge-protection rating
- Extra outlet spacing accommodates larger plugs
- Slim, mountable design suits placement behind furniture
- On/off switch provides convenient power control
Cons:- Eight outlets may fall short for extensive gear setups
- No USB charging ports are listed
- Cord length is not specified in the provided product details
Best for: TV owners and gamers who need spaced outlets and substantial listed surge protection in a mountable, low-profile strip
Not ideal for: People with a large workstation or many grounded devices; it has eight outlets, no listed USB ports, and a two-pin plug specification
- Outlets:8
- Surge protection:3420 joules
- Voltage:120 volts
- Dimensions:11.75 x 3 inches
- Plug type:Type A, 2-pin
- Mountable:Yes
- On/off switch:Yes
- Compatible devices:AC devices and TVs
Our verdict“Pick the ShockBlocker for a compact TV or gaming setup that needs more surge capacity than basic strips, but not a high outlet count.”
Superdanny Power Strip Surge Protector, 28 Outlets, 6 USB Ports, 2100J, 6.5ft Cord, 1875W
When one desk needs power for a computer, monitors, peripherals, and mobile devices, the Superdanny offers an unusual amount of connection capacity: 28 grounded outlets plus six USB ports, including USB-C. The 6.5-foot cord gives more placement flexibility than the Amazon Basics strip’s 2-foot lead, and the flat plug and mounting options can help manage a crowded workstation. Its 2100-joule rating, however, is below the ECHOGEAR ShockBlocker’s 3420 joules and the CCCEI’s listed 4800 joules. The large body can also consume significant desk or floor space, and its fixed side outlets may make oversized adapters awkward. I’d favor it over the eight-outlet ECHOGEAR when outlet count is the priority, but not when compact placement or higher listed surge capacity matters more.
Pros:- 28 grounded outlets support unusually large device setups
- Six USB ports include one USB-C port
- 6.5-foot cord and flat plug offer flexible placement
- Mounting options and overload protection support organized workstation use
Cons:- Bulky design can take up substantial space
- Fixed side outlets may be awkward for oversized plugs
- 2100 joules is below the ECHOGEAR and CCCEI ratings listed here
Best for: People building a fixed home-office or studio workstation with many powered devices and USB-charged accessories
Not ideal for: Small-space users or owners of many bulky adapters; the body is large, side outlets do not rotate, and surge capacity is below some alternatives
- AC outlets:28
- USB ports:6 (5 USB-A and 1 USB-C)
- Surge protection:2100 joules
- Voltage:125 volts
- Maximum current:15 A
- Power:1875 W / 15 A
- Cord length:6.5 feet
- Plug type:Type B, 3-pin North American
Our verdict“Choose the Superdanny when a workstation needs many outlets and USB ports, and you can accommodate its large footprint.”
20AC Power Strip with USB Ports, Heavy Duty Surge Protector, 15 Amp, 6Ft Extension Cord, Black
This 20-outlet strip is aimed at buyers whose gear includes bulky power bricks: its wide outlet spacing helps avoid the crowding that can make high-capacity strips frustrating. Six USB ports add charging points, and the 6-foot cord offers more reach than the Amazon Basics 2-foot model. Compared with the Superdanny, it has fewer AC outlets but a more clearly stated focus on spacing for large adapters; the provided details do not specify a surge-joule rating, so I can’t rank its surge capacity against the ECHOGEAR’s 3420 joules or Superdanny’s 2100 joules. The description gives both 240V and a 1875W/15A limit, so buyers should check compatibility with their local power setup and connected gear. It is also fairly broad and has no listed mounting feature.
Pros:- 20 AC outlets provide ample connection capacity
- Wide spacing is intended to accommodate larger adapters
- Six USB charging ports reduce the need for separate chargers
- Six-foot cord provides useful placement reach
Cons:- No specific surge-protection joule rating is provided
- No mounting feature is listed
- The 240V listing alongside a 1875W/15A limit may require compatibility checks
Best for: Home-office and dorm users with several bulky adapters who want many AC outlets plus USB charging in one strip
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a stated joule rating, a compact strip, or confirmed wall-mounting; those details are absent or unfavorable here
- AC outlets:20
- USB ports:6
- Voltage:240 volts
- Maximum current:15 A
- Power limit:1875 W
- Cord length:6 feet
- Dimensions:11.61 x 3.31 inches
- Weight:1.7 pounds
Our verdict“Consider this strip for many bulky adapters and USB devices, but choose a model with a stated joule rating if surge capacity is central to your decision.”
CCCEI 12 Gauge Heavy Duty Surge Protector, Yellow, 6FT, 1 Outlet
The CCCEI takes a different approach from the multi-outlet desk strips: it targets workshop gear and heavier loads, with a 12-gauge, 6-foot cord, four outlets, and independent 20-amp circuit breakers. Its listed 4800-joule surge rating exceeds the ECHOGEAR ShockBlocker’s 3420 joules, while its wall-mountable body and bright yellow finish suit a garage or work area better than a discreet TV setup. The tradeoff is that it is not a broad charging hub: four outlets and no USB ports offer less flexibility than the Superdanny or 20-outlet strip. There is also a specification conflict: the product description mentions 20-amp breakers, but the listed power limit is 1875W. I’d check the load requirements carefully and avoid treating it as an outdoor-rated strip.
Pros:- 12-gauge, 6-foot extension cord for heavy-duty applications
- Four outlets with independent 20-amp circuit breakers
- Listed 4800-joule surge protection
- Wall-mountable, fireproof-material construction and ETL listing
Cons:- Only four outlets and no USB charging ports
- Listed 1875W maximum conflicts with the 20-amp breaker description
- Product details do not establish outdoor suitability
Best for: Workshop and garage users who want a heavy-gauge cord, separately protected outlets, and wall mounting for compatible indoor equipment
Not ideal for: People needing USB charging, many outlets, outdoor use, or a confirmed 20-amp load; the listing also states a 1875W maximum
- Outlets:4
- Surge protection:4800 joules
- Voltage:125 volts
- Maximum current:20 A listed
- Power limit:1875 W listed
- Cord:12-gauge, 6 feet
- Plug type:Type B, 3-pin North American
- Mounting and listing:Wall-mountable; ETL listed 5019543
Our verdict“Choose the CCCEI for compatible indoor workshop gear and its heavy-duty cord, but verify the load limit before connecting equipment.”

How We Picked
I compared the 15 strips through the needs of people powering electronics and other gear: stated surge-protection capacity, outlet count and layout, cord length, plug design, USB availability, and specialized features. I also looked at whether the product’s form makes sense for its intended load, from a small desk to a rack-adjacent setup or a single heavy-duty connection. Ratings and listings are not a substitute for checking the device manual, load limits, and installation requirements.
The ranking favors useful balance over the biggest number of outlets. The Belkin earns the lead for combining a substantial stated joule rating, 12 outlets, and an 8-foot cord; other high-capacity strips rank for specific layouts or added USB ports. Compact six-outlet models and specialty options rank lower for a general gear setup, but can be the more sensible choice for buyers who value a smaller footprint, a protection feature, or a particular connection format. Products with notably different stated protection ratings are judged in that context, not treated as equivalent because they share the same category.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Surge Protector Power Strips For Gear
Choosing a surge strip for gear starts with the equipment and room layout, not the outlet count on the box. I’d match protection claims and electrical limits to the devices, then check how the strip will sit, what plugs must fit, and whether a basic strip or a specialized product makes more sense.
Match the Strip to the Gear’s Electrical Load
List the devices you expect to connect and check their labels or manuals for current or wattage requirements. A strip’s outlet count does not tell you how much total load it can safely handle, and several high-draw devices can exceed its limit even when sockets remain open. Pay attention to the stated amperage and wattage, and do not use a strip to combine equipment beyond its rating. For a single demanding appliance or tool, a heavy-duty one-outlet model may suit the job better than a desk strip crowded with adapters. If the load is unclear, ask a qualified electrician rather than guessing from the number of plugs.
Read Joule Ratings Alongside Protection Features
A joule rating is one way to compare how much surge energy a product is rated to absorb, but it does not promise protection from every electrical event. Compare ratings only after confirming you are looking at the same type of product and the stated specifications are clear. A high number should not distract from basic details such as certification, a working indicator, or instructions for replacement after a damaging surge. Some models add features such as Furman’s EVS, which serve a different purpose from simply adding more outlets. Check the manufacturer’s explanation of each feature and confirm it suits the equipment you plan to connect.
Plan for Adapter Size, Outlet Spacing, and Cable Reach
Bulky power bricks can block adjacent outlets, so a strip with many closely grouped sockets may fit fewer devices than its count suggests. Before buying, sketch the plug layout or measure the adapters that must connect at once. A longer cord can help position a strip beside a desk or equipment rack, while a flat plug may fit more neatly behind furniture. The tradeoff is that extra cord length can create slack to manage, and a compact body may sacrifice spacing. Keep cords clear of walkways and avoid daisy-chaining strips to solve a reach problem.
Treat USB Ports as a Convenience, Not a Universal Charger
Built-in USB ports can reduce the number of separate charging adapters at a desk, but port count alone does not reveal charging speed or compatibility. Check the USB specifications against phones, tablets, and accessories you plan to charge. Devices that need a particular fast-charging standard may perform better with their supplied charger. USB ports also use space on the strip, so weigh them against the AC outlets your gear needs. For equipment that must remain connected reliably, prioritize the device’s proper power adapter over convenience charging from an integrated port.
Choose the Form Factor for the Installation
A standard indoor strip, a power block, a large outlet hub, and a heavy-duty single-outlet protector solve different placement problems. A 24- or 28-outlet design can serve a dense collection of low-draw gear, but its size may be awkward in a small workspace and it still has a shared load limit. A six-outlet strip is easier to place but can run out of room when adapters are wide. Weather-resistant claims do not mean a product is suitable for every outdoor condition; check its specific rating and use instructions. When the installation is fixed, exposed to moisture, or part of a larger electrical system, get guidance suited to that location.
Know When to Replace the Strip or Choose a Different Solution
Surge protectors can wear out, and an indicator light or protection status label may help show when a model needs replacement. Read the manual for the maker’s replacement guidance rather than assuming the strip remains protective indefinitely. Replace a unit with damaged housing, a loose plug, unusual heat, or signs of electrical distress, and stop using it if anything seems unsafe. A surge strip also does not replace a whole-home surge protective device or correct faulty wiring. If valuable gear depends on stable power, consider a broader protection plan that may include properly installed electrical protection and backups suited to the equipment.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the Belkin 12-outlet strip a better choice than a 24- or 28-outlet model?
For a typical desk or home gear setup, I’d favor the Belkin when its 12 outlets cover the actual devices because its stated 3,940-joule rating and 8-foot cord make a balanced package. The QINLIANF and Superdanny offer far more connection points, which can help with a dense collection of smaller devices. More outlets do not increase the strip’s total load limit, though, and the larger bodies may be harder to place. Compare plug spacing and connected-device draw before choosing by outlet count. Pick the larger hub only when you have a real need for that many connections.
Is a 200-joule surge protector enough for valuable electronics?
The Amazon Basics six-outlet two-pack lists 200 joules, which is much lower than the roughly 4,000-joule claims on several 12-outlet models in this group. I would not treat those ratings as interchangeable when protecting equipment you would find costly or disruptive to replace. Check the product documentation, certification, status indicators, and the manufacturer’s guidance for the devices involved. A surge strip cannot guarantee protection from every event, regardless of its rating. For valuable or sensitive equipment, compare higher-capacity choices and consider whether broader electrical protection is warranted.
Can I plug a second power strip into a surge protector to get more outlets?
I would avoid daisy-chaining strips, including connecting one surge protector to another. This can make it easier to exceed a circuit or product load limit and may conflict with the manufacturers’ instructions. A crowded setup is a cue to recalculate the total load and choose a properly sized solution, not simply add another strip. For a large collection of gear, separate equipment across suitable wall outlets or circuits only when the electrical layout supports it. If you are unsure about the circuit capacity, ask an electrician.
Does a strip with USB ports replace the chargers supplied with my devices?
Not always. USB charging performance depends on the port’s output and the device’s charging standard, details that may differ among products with the same number of ports. Built-in USB is handy for basic accessories, but a tablet or phone that relies on a specific fast-charging protocol may charge more slowly or not reach its expected rate. Check the strip’s USB specifications against the device manual. Keep the original charger available when compatibility or charging speed matters.
When should I choose a heavy-duty single-outlet protector instead of a multi-outlet strip?
A single-outlet model such as the CCCEI is worth considering when the setup needs one connection in a heavy-duty format rather than a cluster of desk outlets. Its 12-gauge construction and 15-amp specification point to a different role from a multi-outlet strip loaded with electronics. Still, those specifications do not make it suitable for every tool or environment; check the connected equipment’s requirements and the product instructions. If you need to power multiple pieces of gear, a single-outlet protector will not solve that layout. For a fixed or high-load installation, get advice from a qualified electrician.
Conclusion
Best overall: I’d choose the Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector for a general gear setup that needs 12 outlets, a long cord, and a substantial stated joule rating. Best value-oriented pick: the Amazon Basics 12-Outlet is a straightforward alternative for buyers who want a high outlet count and 4,000-joule claim without USB ports. Best premium or equipment-focused option: the Furman SS-6B-PRO makes more sense when its EVS feature and power-block format fit the setup. Best for beginners: the Eaton Tripp Lite TLP606B offers a simpler six-outlet layout for a smaller group of devices. For specialized needs, choose the QINLIANF or Superdanny when many outlets are the priority, and the CCCEI when a heavy-duty single outlet is the better match. I’d make the final choice by checking total load, plug fit, and protection specifications—not by outlet count alone.
Halloween Picks

Govee Outdoor Halloween Projector Light with 3D Dynamic Visuals and Nebula Effect

Kalolary 11 ft Halloween Inflatable Archway Ghost House Tunnel

HOPOCO Halloween Pumpkin Fog Machine with 12 LED Colors & Remote Control
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.


















