AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: A Guide To Muse Spark Open: Meta’s Open-Weight AI Model on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Meta has released Muse Spark Open, an open-weight model built for agentic coding that accepts text, images, audio and video. Its published specifications include 816 billion total parameters and a context window of up to one million tokens, but deployment requires substantial hardware and the supplied material provides no independent performance results or license details.

As detailed in the original analysis, Meta has released Muse Spark Open, an open-weight multimodal model designed for agentic coding and long developer workflows. Its published specifications describe a mixture-of-experts model with about 816 billion total parameters, a one-million-token context window and inputs for text, images, audio and video; the available material does not establish how it performs against other models.

The model description on Hugging Face says Muse Spark Open activates about 42 billion parameters per token and generates text from multimodal input. Meta’s stated focus includes tasks such as reading codebases, making changes across multiple files and handling extended coding workflows. The description characterizes the model as able to plan, take actions, observe outcomes and revise its work, including when browsing with images. These are intended capabilities, not independently verified results in the supplied information.

The architecture is listed as having 256 experts per mixture-of-experts layer, with a routing mechanism selecting eight experts for each token. The model description specifies BF16 and NVFP4 checkpoint formats. BF16 files total about 1.5 terabytes; the source says running this version in Transformers uses four nodes, each with eight H200 GPUs. The NVFP4 checkpoint is described as designed for a single B200 node, but the source’s claim of negligible accuracy loss from four-bit precision is not accompanied by measurements or test conditions.

The one-million-token limit covers text and multimodal tokens in the same context, according to the description. The source estimates that a full-length context would require about 266 gigabytes for the BF16 key-value cache, in addition to memory for the model weights. It points developers to checkpoint repositories and deployment recipes for Transformers, llama.cpp, vLLM and SGLang, as well as guidance for open-weight AI users.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Release reported; the source material d…
The developmentMeta released Muse Spark Open, a large open-weight multimodal model aimed at long-running coding-agent tasks.
At a glance
announcementWhen: Released; the source material does not…
The developmentMeta released Muse Spark Open, a large open-weight model built for coding tasks and able to process text, images, audio and video.

Hardware Shapes Who Can Test It

Muse Spark Open gives developers a published set of weights to evaluate for coding tasks that combine source code with visual, audio or video material. For example, a team could test whether a model can connect a screenshot or screen recording to a bug report and codebase. That possibility follows from its stated input types; the source does not show that the model does this reliably or better than alternatives.

The specifications also set practical limits on access. The 42-billion active-parameter count does not mean the model can be deployed with memory for only 42 billion parameters: the full set of 816 billion parameters must be available. The large BF16 checkpoint and the stated multi-node setup make this an infrastructure-intensive release, not a lightweight local model. The one-million-token context may help with large tasks, but using it carries substantial additional memory needs.

For organizations considering adoption, the main questions are not settled by parameter counts or context length. They include coding quality, reliability over long tasks, multimodal accuracy, inference cost and whether the applicable terms permit the intended use. The supplied material does not quantify those factors.

Amazon

high performance GPU for AI training

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

A Larger Model in Meta’s Muse Series

Muse Spark Open is described as the larger model in Meta’s Muse series, following Muse Glimmer, which the source says was released in August as a smaller, dense model intended for local use. The supplied material does not give the year for that August release or specify the date Muse Spark Open became available. It says the two models share a tokenizer, vocabulary and chat-template lineage, while Spark uses a mixture-of-experts design and adds multimodal features.

The model description lists a 62-layer language model with a hidden dimension of 8,192, plus separate image-and-video perception and audio encoders. Images and video frames use the perception encoder; audio is converted into tokens at a stated rate of 12.5 per second. Those design details explain how different inputs are represented, but do not establish the model’s accuracy in interpreting them. The source also points to recipes for running and fine-tuning the checkpoints, though the terms governing those activities are not included in the supplied material.

Amazon

large memory AI model server

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Performance and Usage Terms

The supplied information includes no independent benchmark results, comparative coding scores or evidence showing how reliably Muse Spark Open completes extended tasks. Meta’s descriptions of its training focus and intended capabilities should not be treated as proof of performance. It is also unclear how the model compares on multimodal coding tasks or what quality and latency trade-offs arise under different deployment setups.

The source does not state the model’s license, release date or full use and redistribution terms. It also gives no test data behind the NVFP4 accuracy claim. Those missing details matter to developers deciding whether they can use, adapt or redistribute the checkpoints, and whether the hardware and operating costs are practical for their workloads.

Amazon

multimodal AI development kit

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Independent Testing and License Details

The immediate next step for interested teams is to review the published checkpoints and deployment recipes, then test the model against their own coding and multimodal workloads. Those evaluations can help establish whether its long context and mixed-input support are useful in practice, and what hardware, speed and cost a particular setup requires.

The supplied material does not announce a further milestone or scheduled evaluation. A clearer basis for adoption would require the applicable license and usage terms, reproducible benchmark results, and evidence about performance across coding and multimodal tasks. Until those details are available, the release’s specifications describe what developers can investigate, not a verified measure of practical results.

Amazon

AI model deployment hardware

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

What is Muse Spark Open?

Muse Spark Open is an open-weight model from Meta designed for agentic coding. Its description says it accepts text, images, audio and video, and produces text.

How large is the model?

The published specifications list about 816 billion total parameters, with roughly 42 billion active per token. The full model weights still need to be available in memory for deployment.

Can it run on a typical personal computer?

The supplied material describes substantial hardware requirements: BF16 files total about 1.5 terabytes, with a stated Transformers setup using four nodes with eight H200 GPUs each. It does not describe a typical personal-computer setup.

Has Muse Spark Open been shown to outperform other coding models?

No comparative results are provided in the supplied material. It contains no independent benchmarks or comparative coding scores.

What license applies to the weights?

The source material does not state the license or full usage terms. Developers should check the checkpoint repositories for applicable terms before using or redistributing the weights.

Primary source: Hugging Face · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com

FALL

Fall Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Apple One And Apple TV Subscription Prices Increase By Up To 20 Percent

Apple has increased the prices of its Apple One and Apple TV+ subscriptions by up to 20%, marking a significant change for users worldwide.

Deep Strikes, Jamming, And AI: The Interconnected Technology System

Analysis of how deep strike drones, electronic warfare, and AI are integrated in modern warfare, focusing on Ukraine-Russia conflict developments.

A Closer Look At Unintended AI Actions In Anthropic’s Internal Use

Anthropic says it is investigating unintended model actions in evaluations and internal use, but has not disclosed the behavior or its findings.

SpaceXAI’s New Grok 4.7 Improves On Coding, Maintains Cheaper Token Rates Than Peers – Seeking Alpha

SpaceXAI’s new Grok 4.7 model reportedly improves coding performance while keeping token costs below competitors, though details are unconfirmed.